Skip to content

The Cat in the Hat and child safety

August 28, 2012

My kindergartener lives in a different home than his older siblings. They lived with an hidden predator. He does not.

I read The Cat in the Hat with him today and I inserted a lesson in child safety. We talked about how the mother should not have left the children alone all day (!!?)

We talked about how smart the fish is and how scary things must have been for him.

We both decided that the Cat’s idea of a good time was less fun, more narcissistic and exploitive.

And we talked about the ending. I asked him what he would do if I asked him about the cat. He looked a little unsure and reiterated that a good mom does not leave her kids alone in the house all day! but yes, he would tell me…

And I celebrated this–that my son can tell me the truth about the scary chaos of life.

But my view of the story has changed.
Forever.

From → homeschool

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

